Dreamer Documents

A writer with a dream

Leave a comment

One of the first things you should do at the beginning of any story is to introduce your main character. Now normally, you want to pace this really well. You want to reveal things slowly, draw your reader bit by bit into their world, and you want to do this without a ton of exposition. Show, don’t tell, that’s the rule.

However, since this is a first person narrative of a journalistic nature, I feel that I can get away with being more direct. ^-^

My name is Jennifer L. Post, and today I am twenty-six years old. For more than half of my life I have been a writer. For at least half of it, I have dreamed of becoming a published author. Still, in all those thirteen years I have never sent any of my stories out to magazines, editors, or anything.

“I’m almost done with my novella.” I would tell people, for years. Or, “Yeah I’m working on some short stories right now, but life is a bit crazy so I don’t know when it will be done.”

Last Christmas I had a good long think about what I was doing as a writer and realized that for a long time I had lost my focus. I don’t at all regret the things I focused on instead during those years, especially since one of them is now my wonderful husband. ^-^ However, I realized I needed to stop putting this dream on the back-burner and start making writing a priority in my life.

So, for New Year’s this year I gave myself a couple of important goals:

Finish at least three stories this year and get them polished to the point where I could publish them somehow. Then, figure out exactly what I wanted to do with these stories, be it traditional publishing through magazines and such, or perhaps self-publishing for an e-reader. And after that actually DO IT!

I also wanted to restart my blog, because I know that is important for a writer/author to have an online presence these days. I will admit that I feel doubtful about people actually reading it… ^-^ Still, I feel that at the very least it will be helpful for me to keep track of the progress I’m making towards my goal. Hopefully it will help me to stay focused as well.

So there you have it, the first page of what will hopefully be a good story.

Author: Jennifer L. Post

For most of my life I've been imagining and playing, making up stories and writing them down. It's my dream to become a published author. Right now I'm working hard to make that happen. ^-^

Leave a Reply

