Dreamer Documents

A Promising Start

Leave a comment

Since the goal of this blog is to keep a track of what I’m working on with my writing, I feel I should probably do a little catch-up post. While it has taken me these three months to stop vacillating in regards to restarting my blog, I am happy to say that I have indeed been working on my writing since January 1. ^-^ Not only that, but I have actually finished drafts one and two of the first of my three short stories!

I really can’t express how stunning it was for me to realize that this story is the first non-poem piece of writing that I’ve finished in the last six years.  It was late, I don’t even remember how late, when I typed the last period on the last sentence. I stared at it for a little while. I wanted to laugh, but I didn’t want to wake anyone up. So I just got up, stretched, and did a quiet little dance.

To tell a little bit about the story, I have to start with the current working title; which is ‘Take On Me’. Yes, like the song. ^-^ Last fall my little writer’s group started doing once a month writing prompts. The very first one, proffered by my cousin, was to watch the music video for ‘Take On Me’ and write a story based on the first idea that you had. I had the chorus stuck in my head for weeks afterwards. I also had a really solid idea about a young boy, a horse, and a demon.

(No, it is not at all strange for this kind of thing to occur. ^-^  The stories I write mostly fall into the genre of fantasy. I have dabbled in some other genres, yet inevitably my ideas spin back into the fantastical. It is really the place where I feel most at home.)

So I had this vivid idea of what I wanted to write, and I worked on it a little bit, really on and off, till about November. Then the holidays set in… I work in food service, at a mall. I will tell you right now that my brain is mostly jelly until after Christmas. XD Still, even that craziness couldn’t shake this idea out of my head. I knew exactly what story I was going to start with in 2014.

There is almost a desolate feeling to a mall in the second week of January, and it only gets worse as the month goes on. At least, that’s how it is at my mall. It’s a huge relief at first. No more crowds! Then, as there is increasingly less work to do over the course of each day, a result of having ample to time to finish all of your tasks the previous day, it just becomes endless. So, after all the work I could do was done, I would take little pieces of paper to my register and write until a customer appeared. I also started coming early to work to sit at a table in the food court and write more. This combination worked really well for me.

I finished the first draft with still a week left in the month. Read it to my writer’s group and got some really good pointers, especially about the ending. It was kind of needlessly rambling , and they really helped me pinpoint the perfect to place to actually end it. ^-^ I had been talking with a good friend of mine who is going to school with the intention of becoming an editor, and she said she’d be happy to look over the story when I had finished typing up the second draft. She also gave me a deadline! Technically I missed it by one day; which is still a huge improvement over what generally happens when I set deadlines for myself.

And that’s where the story currently stands. She’s been working on editing it for the last couple months, in between her college classes. Meanwhile I have started up this blog, and tried really hard to focus on my next story. It’s really difficult, because I am just itching to do a third edit for ‘Take On Me’ and polish it within an inch of it’s life! Starting with the title, it definitely needs a better title. ^-^

Author: Jennifer L. Post

For most of my life I've been imagining and playing, making up stories and writing them down. It's my dream to become a published author. Right now I'm working hard to make that happen. ^-^

Leave a Reply

