Dreamer Documents

A fairytale with a twist

Leave a comment

Here is a fun little fact about story number two for my New Year’s challenge: I originally started writing it as a gift for my Scholar, Lucas, back before we were engaged. I thought it would be sweet to do a fairytale retelling for him, because I am hugely sappy. ^-^ However, the problem I ran into is that quite a lot of fairytales have female heroines, and none of the few with male main characters really sparked my imagination. Then I thought, well why not just do a traditional tale with all of the genders completely swapped? I had a few ideas, but eventually decided to work with Rapunzel.

For those who are unaware, Rapunzel is a type of lettuce. So, I thought that it would be both fitting and fun to name my main character accordingly. Therefore, this story is title, “Romaine”. ^-^

This last month I have mostly been doing some new plot outlining, to help me get back into the flow of the story and to fix a couple of plot holes I noticed when I was reading over the old outline. I also wanted to balance out the roles that Romaine and the lead female character (currently without a name) play in moving the plot forward, which required a few things to be straightened out. I’ve also finished typing up all of the story that I had originally written. It extends well into the setup for both characters, so it’s a really good start. I was also surprised to find out that I have almost 3,800 words already!

Here is a short excerpt (still first draft) from the beginning:

There are many things in this world which might serve to unnerve a person. For those who deal with the Otherness of things, with magic, even more than one might expect. Yet try as he might, Rom could think of nothing more disquieting than the gorgeous sunset outside his westward windows.

Deep crimson at the heart, the cloudy construct seemed to watch him like some baleful eye. Fat bellied groups of cumulus clustered around it, as brilliant and fiery as a swarm of poisonous salamanders. Even the pale gold and pink streamers trailing out into the ether were merely deceptive harbingers of an oncoming storm. Were they reaching for him, in his lonely tower? Dread crawled deep inside his gut at the thought.

Rom snapped the window latch up with a simple flick, swinging it open wide and leaning out as far as he dared. Not even the the dizzy drop from the window ledge to the ground bothered him as much as those lavish colors, so dramatically sprawled across the darkening, dusky sky. He closed his eyes, testing the scent, sound, and taste of the wind that ruffled his dark hair.

“Tonight,” he spoke quietly. “The storm arrives tonight.”

He had hoped for more time; even with those grasping streamers he had hoped. Then again, his wishing had never held back a storm before. Why start now?

So quickly did he pull himself back into the tower room that he almost smacked his head on the window frame. He barely noticed the near miss, his gaze flitting about the room in search of where to begin his preparations. The warning sign had been given. There was much to be done.

None of it would spare him, but it must be done.

I’m so excited to work with this story again! I know it’s going to be fun. I have given myself a soft deadline of May 1rst to complete at least the first draft, with an absolute deadline of May 15th. My good friend and student editor has promised to berate me sharply if I miss it! I will keep this blog updated with my progress as I go. ^-^

Author: Jennifer L. Post

For most of my life I've been imagining and playing, making up stories and writing them down. It's my dream to become a published author. Right now I'm working hard to make that happen. ^-^

Leave a Reply

