Dreamer Documents

Fresh Canned Ideas

2 Comments

It’s well past time for another update here!

My last post was mostly about me deciding whether continuing with Romaine, at least right now, is in the best interest of my three short-story challenge. To be honest, I seriously wanted to drop it and move on to another project. Then I realized that there are only about three and a half months left in in the year. Egads! So basically, the only way I have any chance of completing even half of my challenge – at least writing three shorts, if not editing – is to finish Romaine. *sigh*

That being said, I should probably get started on my next story as well. At the very least some plot outlining wouldn’t go amiss. The next one needs to stay short! ^-^ I already have several thoughts and I thought I’d let you all in on what a few of those are. So, here are the main three.

Idea #1: (code name, Picking Up the Trail)

This story is another one of my partial starts, similar to Romaine. However it is much more slice-of-life in style, and is set in what appears to be everyday life. *grin* The story is about a young woman named Lana, who works at a wildlife refuge and has just come off a sort of medical watch after suffering a severe mental/physical breakdown about a year ago. One of the major factors of this breakdown was Lana’s fanatical search for her younger sister, Riona, missing for several years. (I think five total?)

So the story begins with Lana adjusting to regular life again and trying to find closure. Then she receives a letter, postmarked five years prior, that changes everything she thought she knew. And I mean everything! Don’t be fooled by the fictiony feel of this blurb, there is fantasy/sci-fi angle in there. ^-^

I’m excited to get back into this story at some point, there’s a lot of emotion there I want to explore. Also, Lana is a favorite character of mine. (Whom I am horribly mean to.)

Idea #2:  (code name, Angel Wings)

Also slice-of-life style, this is the story of a young woman with healing abilities named Amariyah. She deals with a lot of anxiety, from past traumas, and can’t handle being around people she doesn’t know. Even with people she knows, she is very reserved. Despite this, she is known throughout her neighborhood as someone who will help people in need, people who might be unable or too afraid to go to a hospital. But you have to go to her, she will not come to you. In fact she hasn’t set foot outside of her apartment for years.

Until she receives a plea for help that she cannot ignore, four floors outside of her comfort zone.

This idea was very vivid in my mind when I first thought about it, although I didn’t do anything more with it than a good outline at the time. I was trying to focus on Romaine. *small sigh* Anyhow, I am definitely excited at the thought of working on this again! ^-^

Idea #3: (code name, Witch in the Wind)

A story that came to me while listening to a song. Not well fleshed out at the moment. Basically it is the story of a young girl coming to grips with the magic she was born with; some exploration of the way mistakes can shape a person, or at least shape the way other people view that person. She has a friend and a strict, self righteous, father. That’s all I know for now.

I think mainly what I have for this right now is a good image of the climactic scene. Trying to decide whether to do it from her point of view, or her friend’s. Also toying with the idea of a ‘this is the real story’ sort of vibe. Not sure if that would be in the form of it actually being told to someone else in story, or more of a first person narrative from someone’s memory.

 

So there you go, ideas for my next project!

I’m still contemplating at the moment, but I think I am leaning strongly towards #2 right now. As I said, it was a very vivid idea and I have a plot summary already written. So it’s a lot more fully formed than the other two. It is also centered around a single incident, so it will definitely be on the shorter side. I am confident that I can get it written within my remaining time.

What one do you think I should do? Maybe you have a question, or don’t like any of these? Let me know in the comments. ^-^

Author: Jennifer L. Post

For most of my life I've been imagining and playing, making up stories and writing them down. It's my dream to become a published author. Right now I'm working hard to make that happen. ^-^

2 thoughts on “Fresh Canned Ideas

  1. I WANT TO READ ALL OF THESE THEY SOUND SO GREAT OMG CAN’T WAIT. D:

    Like

  2. Thanks! ^-^ I am actually working on ‘Angel Wings’ right now.

    Like

Leave a Reply

