Dreamer Documents

NaNo Notes: Week 1

3 Comments

Yes, I will be counting this blog post towards my total words for the day. 😉

 

Currently sitting at 2,783 words. (3,500 was what I needed for the first week.)

I am definitely a bit embarrassed to report that I find myself two days behind already. Two whole days where I just didn’t have it in me to write 500 words? Pretty sad.

But I’m going to do better this week! I will write everyday if it kills me! Shouldn’t be too bad really, since I’ve finally gotten into the part of ‘Romaine’ where the lich appears. In fact the heroine is spying on him from inside a box as we speak! Poor Elena, she is soooo far out of her comfort zone right now. XD

Here is a little excerpt, from part of the above scene, which I wrote yesterday.

(first draft of course, but it was my favorite bit of description. ^-^)

Wake up! She shouted at Romaine in her mind, with the vague idea of somehow catching the pitch of the Ley Line with her thoughts. She felt no ripples, he did not even glance her way. He probably would not have responded even if she had jumped out and shouted for true. The spell laid on him was strong, and her skills pathetic.

Even as she berated herself, the blonde man continued his chant, and far below the Ley Line began to rise in answer to his call. Elena felt the hum of it’s power as it shifted, rolling into a high pitch. Excited, it surged upwards until she thought the entire tower must be vibrating to it’s single note. Certainly it sang all through her own body, tingling, rushing in her blood so that she had to brace herself against the solid walls of the chest to keep from leaping up and up along with it.

I dunno why, but I really enjoy the phrase ‘for true’… it felt better than ‘for real’ in this instance. Probably won’t survive editing though.

And that wraps up my report for week one of NaNoWriMo. Goals for week two include catching up on those days I missed and maybe finishing out Romaine! Good luck to anyone else also attempting NaNo this year! If you have any thoughts or questions, let me know in the comments. ^-^

Author: Jennifer L. Post

For most of my life I've been imagining and playing, making up stories and writing them down. It's my dream to become a published author. Right now I'm working hard to make that happen. ^-^

3 thoughts on “NaNo Notes: Week 1

  1. I’m sorry to hear you weren’t able to meet your wordcount goal for this week! Good luck for next week – I love the excerpt you posted. 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

