Dreamer Documents

NaNo Notes: Week 3

Leave a comment

I can’t believe it’s already week three of November. Only one more week, and a couple days, left on my NaNoWriMo challenge! I also can’t believe how well I’m doing right now. I am meeting my goals, and pushing right on through tough scenes with at least  a fraction of the devil-may-care, “I’ll edit that later!” attitude which I have long envied many of my peers.

Here are the relevant stats:

I have written a total of 3,629 words this week, huzzah!
This leaves me with a grand total of 10,017/10,500… less than a day behind! And there was much rejoicing! *rejoices*

I’ve been wondering these last few days, whether I will actually be able to finish Romaine this month or not. Seriously, I may have a really sad day if I don’t get this done! I’m talking ‘in need of intensive book, chocolate, and video game therapy’ sad!

I think I have about four scenes left to write: some planning, some implementing of plans, some plans going awry, and the finale. It feels like I’m so close, but this story has consistently proven to be more complicated than I originally thought. In fact I actually took a look at the full word count, for probably the first time since April, and I cannot express the extent of my astonishment at what it said. The current manuscript stands at 26,672 words, well into the novella range!

I don’t really know how this happened. XD In all likelihood it will be trimmed down quite a lot when it gets edited, but I think it’s about time I faced the facts on this one. I’m no longer working on a short story. *sigh*  I wonder, should it count as two shorts for my three shorts challenge, since it is more than twice the length of a short story? ^-^ Nah, that’s probably cheating.

I have a feeling that I won’t be starting on ‘Angel Wings’ till December.  Sort of fitting I guess.

Once again I think I’ll round out this NaNo report with a little excerpt from what I wrote this week. It was really hard to pick something, because the only bit I wrote which really resonated with me contains major spoilers. haha Then I remembered that last night I did some interesting magic and character development stuff. Warning, cliffhanger ahead.

After much careful poking and exploring, Romaine finally thought he knew the harmonics of the sigils, their forms and notes laid out in his mind like a map. He hummed a short bar under his breath, testing one last time, then opened his eyes and lowered his arm.

“Reveal,” he said. The word rumbled through the air in just the way he had intended. However, the familiar sense of excitement and elation he usually found upon cracking a difficult spell or puzzle did not come. Instead he watched ghostly patterns playing across the mirror in front of him, intricate and beautiful, and felt only the weight of despair.

“Show me,” his voice broke, losing it’s hold on the careful pitch he needed. Romaine took a deep breath, squared his shoulders and faced down his own sad reflection in the mirror with determination. It was forced determination, but it was better than nothing.

He had to know the truth.

I would love to know, even though they are still rough edits, are you enjoying these little excerpts? Should I continue to do them?  Please leave me a comment about it! And if you have any other thoughts or questions for me, feel free to comment with those also. Have a great last weekish of November! ^-^

Author: Jennifer L. Post

For most of my life I've been imagining and playing, making up stories and writing them down. It's my dream to become a published author. Right now I'm working hard to make that happen. ^-^

Leave a Reply

