Dreamer Documents

NaNo Notes: Wrap Up

Leave a comment

Happy December! ^-^

Well, NaNoWriMo is officially over. That last week is always the hardest, especially when you have to work Black Friday. I actually managed to write 1,100 words on Thanksgiving, in between two family gatherings and working till midnight. That felt pretty cool. ^-^

Alright so let’s get down to the final stats then, shall we?

November word count: 15,111/15,000  Goal achieved! Hip-hip-huzzah! ^-^ I know it isn’t an official NaNo win, but it is my first November win ever, and it feels pretty good.

On the other hand, as I predicted, ‘Romaine’ is still not finished. *deep sigh*

So, I find the shining star of my new triumph somewhat dimmed… Although, not as much as I thought I would. At midnight last night I looked at my NaNo word count, and then I went ahead and looked at the word count for the entire manuscript. ‘Romaine’ currently stands at 31,000 words and change. Guys, that is three short stories worth of words.

It also happens to be 4,000 more words than the novella that I’ve been working on for the last ten years or so. Let me tell you, when that sank in it felt really, really weird.

Then, after thinking some more, I realized that what it really meant: I have pretty much written a novella in less than a tenth of the time of my first attempt. Despite all of my failings so far this year, I have still been more productive than at almost any other point in my little writing ‘career’.

That, is very cool. Very cool indeed. ^-^

Alright so, I think I’ll wrap up this post with my goals for December, and a final NaNo excerpt. ^-^

Goal 1) Keep writing 500 words a day, for at least five days in the week.

Goal 2) Try my best to keep posting something here once a week.

Goal 3) FINISH ROMAINE!

I have to admit, I kind of hate ‘Romaine’ right now. I feel like my characters talk too much, and I’m currently slogging my way through them planning plans and implementing those plans. But, once I finish that I will have a straight shot to the end! And I have a feeling it will be really fun. ^-^

Here is the best passage I could find from this last week that doesn’t contain major spoilers. Hope you enjoy it. As always, questions or comments are welcome! ^-^

Romaine could not help the utter fascination he felt as the wizard began to chant. A red glow rose from his scrying bowl, somehow twining with the foul smoke to form a misty circle in the air. Ever thickening, it seemed to coalesce, growing larger and larger.

“Romaine,” Elena grabbed his elbow. “Please, stop this now. Disenchant the mirror, turn it off!”

He ignored her plea, caught up in trying to decipher the spell words the wizard used. Blood enabled magic; it was dubious, even if the blood used belonged to the caster, but powerful. He had read much about it, passages both astounding and stomach turning. To see it though, was a entirely different matter.

By now the blood dark cloud seemed to have become a solid object hanging in the air, its surface had even acquired a dull sheen. The wizard’s chanting ended on an up-pitched syllable. He raised his bandaged left hand towards the strange thing he had created.

“Show me what I seek,” he said. His voice boomed, as if somehow it echoed through the mirror. “Show me the maiden of the Blessed Green. Reveal her location, Elena de Corthys. Unveil her designs, child of Cyran’s royal blood.” The smoke circle pulsed with each command. Flashes grew within it’s depths and a strange white glow began to appear around the edge of the mirror.

That could not be good.

Author: Jennifer L. Post

For most of my life I've been imagining and playing, making up stories and writing them down. It's my dream to become a published author. Right now I'm working hard to make that happen. ^-^

Leave a Reply

