Dreamer Documents

State of the Blog Address

Leave a comment

Hey out there! It’s been over a week since my last post, so I figured a quick look at what I’ve been up to is in order. I have actually been getting things done!

My first order of business now that ‘Romaine’ is done has been to get to work on editing for the first story I wrote last year, ‘Take On Me’. This has been going very well indeed! I printed out a copy of it so that I could physically scribble notes and edits on it. Pretty light editing really, mostly phrasing stuff and tightening up some sentences. I’ve already finished going through the whole story, and am now awaiting notes from a couple of beta readers to see how they match up with my own edits.

Somewhat embarrassed to report that I did accidentally print out the wrong draft for my editing purposes. Somehow I had forgotten to update the file on my thumb drive after I did a super quick edit last year. *facepalm* So, I will have to do a comparison between my edits and the ones already made on that draft before I go typing up the final version. It shouldn’t be too much of a problem, since I’m fairly sure that the only big change I made was to switch the gender on one character. Still, it is a great reminder to always make sure your files are updated across your various storage mediums!

Aside from editing, I’ve also done a little writing for my next story project, ‘Angel Wings’. Some may remember this from my Fresh Canned Ideas post as the tale of a young lady hermit driven to push her boundaries. I am really enjoying the bits I’ve been scribbling down so far.

In addition to short story work, I’ve also been writing out some ideas for future blog posts. Two of them are actually about done, but some issues at work have sent me spiraling back into the survival/hibernation mode that is usually reserved for the Christmas season. *sigh* It’s a hard thing to push back out of, especially for an Anne-ish girl like myself, but since this post currently exists, I am clearly doing much better.

However I do think that writing up a couple of posts at a time would probably help a lot with my goal of more regular blog posting. My weekend starts tomorrow, so I’ll see how much I can get done while I wait for those beta reader notes. Luckily, I have lots of ideas right now!

My next post will be about some of the methods I use for catching said ideas. ^-^

Author: Jennifer L. Post

For most of my life I've been imagining and playing, making up stories and writing them down. It's my dream to become a published author. Right now I'm working hard to make that happen. ^-^

Leave a Reply

