Dreamer Documents

Editing, Research, Further Plans

Leave a comment

Yesterday I finished my editing for draft 3 of ‘Take Me On’. Whoop! I’m sending it out to my beta readers today, and hoping that I got all the issues fixed without creating more, haha. ^-^ I have a good feeling though, pretty sure this is the last draft.

And what do you do with a fully finished and polished story? Well you send it out into the world to get rejected of course! Before I do that though, I will have to do some research. Firstly, I’ve got to find some places to send it. I think I’ll probably go pick up the latest copy of Writer’s Market, because the one I have is several years old. Seriously, this is one of the best resource books that you can have if you want to go the traditional way with your freelance writing. It lists magazines, both physical and online, anthologies, publishing companies, and agents. It also tells you what kinds of genres they publish and how they prefer to receive submissions. Very good stuff! Writer’s Market also has a website, but I personally like to have a book that I can read whenever I want… and write notes in. ^-^

The other bit of research I need to do will probably be more difficult. I need to figure out how writing with a pen name works when you are sending out submissions and whatnot. Jennifer L. Post is actually my maiden name. ^-^ I don’t know whether that will make things easier or harder, but it’s the name I plan to publish under. So, I’ll have to figure that out. If anyone has some insights into this, please share! I would greatly appreciate it.

Along with this research, I will also be moving on to my next writing projects now that TMO is pretty much finished. ‘Angel Wings’ is the next short I’ll be working on. I’ve actually done a little bit of writing for it while I was editing. (cause it’s hard to edit at work! lol)So, I’m hoping it will all come together pretty quickly. It’s a fairly simple story. Perhaps I can even keep it under 3,000 words? We shall see. ^-^ It’s certainly been a while since I wrote a short quite that short.

Editing TMO has also started me thinking a lot about different writing habits and styles, which has resulted in an actual plan for some blog posts on the subject. I know, I am also extremely boggled by this. XD Planned blog posts? What?

Nevertheless, I’m hoping to have the first one up by next week. So keep your eyes open for “Writing Styles: Tolkienish and Lewisy“, and come find out why these somewhat silly terms might not mean what you think. ^-^

Author: Jennifer L. Post

For most of my life I've been imagining and playing, making up stories and writing them down. It's my dream to become a published author. Right now I'm working hard to make that happen. ^-^

Leave a Reply

