Dreamer Documents

Research Results

4 Comments

This week has been all about doing my research, and I’ve been hard at work. ^-^ I also finished up another book from my unread book box, ‘Ringworld’ by Larry Niven. So yay!

First on my list this week was finding out how submitting work under a pen name works. I was a little worried that it would involve some complicated legal process, but it seems quite simple. Basically you submit your work under your legal name, and just request that it be published under your pen name. You can include it in your cover letter, or even just put “writing as (pen name)” under your real name when sending in a manuscript. Easy.  I also found out that your published name is called a ‘Byline’, which is pretty cool. ^-^

Publishing under a pen name does mean you’ll need to do an extra thing or two when it comes to copyrighting your work. Once again, it’s pretty simple stuff. If you want to keep your real name secret from your publishers, things get a bit more complicated; but that’s not something I’m worried about.

Here’s a link to a good article I found on pen names, in case anyone else needs it: Pseudonyms, Pseudonyms, Pseudonyms

The second part of my research took a lot longer. I went down to Barnes and Noble to get a new copy of Writer’s Market, and ended up having to track all over looking for it because they moved everything around… I could have asked for help, but it’s a weird point of pride for me to know how to find what I want at my local bookstore. XD

I eventually found all the books on writing in the “Reference” section (no, it does not make sense to me either), and procured my sought after volume. I actually got the ‘Novel and Short Story Writer’s Market’, because that’s all I needed and it’s significantly cheaper. ^-^

Sat down and wrote a quick cheat sheet of facts for ‘Take Me On’, mainly the genre and word count, and proceeded to peruse the magazine listings for likely targets. After a while of skimming through alphabetically, I remembered that there’s a index in the back that goes by genre. Thing went much faster after that. ^-^ And, I now have a tidy little list of about twelve places I could send it. A couple of them would require me to pare it down by about 1,000 words… so I’m saving those for last.

Still waiting on final editing notes, so I will do some organizing of my possibles list and more digging on how the top contenders prefer to receive submissions. Also a liiiitle more looking into the pen name thing… just to make sure I have all the specifics right.

I’d love to start sending it out by the end of the month. We’ll see how it goes.

Wish me luck! ^-^

Author: Jennifer L. Post

For most of my life I've been imagining and playing, making up stories and writing them down. It's my dream to become a published author. Right now I'm working hard to make that happen. ^-^

4 thoughts on “Research Results

  1. Lots of luck, Jen!! ❤

    Like

Leave a Reply

