Dreamer Documents

Loot Review

2 Comments

I love getting books any time. ^-^ Getting books for my birthday, however, is especially awesome! I got a whole bunch this year, and I’m so excited to read them that I don’t even care that the “Unread Books” box I’ve been trying to make my way through has been topped up. hehe

So I thought I’d do a quick post about what excellent volumes I acquired this week. ^-^

1. The Robin & The Kestrel – Mercedes Lackey

This is the second book in an older series by Lackey called, “Bardic Voices”. I actually got the first one for Christmas, and I really enjoyed it. ^-^I love stories about Bards, especially kick-ass lady Bards who fiddle for murderous ghosts… This second book is actually about a couple of secondary characters from the first book, but that doesn’t make me any less excited to read it. I can’t wait to see what shenanigans they get up to!

2. Ever – Gail Carson Levine

I recently discovered that there were several Gail Carson Levine books that I didn’t know about. What madness is this!? O.O One of them is ‘Ever’: a mythological tale about love and courage, all that excellent stuff. From the cover, it seems like it might be set somewhere kind of like India, or maybe Mesopotamia? And from a glance at the first page, it seems to be written in first person… which is new for my experience of Gail Carson Levine. ^-^ It’s short too, so I am very tempted to make this the next book on my reading list.

3. Water: Tales of Elemental Spirits – Robin McKinley & Peter Dickinson

This is a collection of short stories, all based on the titular theme. I’ve always been drawn to anything ‘four element’ based, and I love the authors… especially Robin McKinley!

4. Blood Red – Mercedes Lackey

This is the latest book in Lackey’s ‘Elemental Masters’ series. They are all sort of based on fairytales, and this one is Little Red Riding Hood… if little Red were an axe-wielding badass with command over the elemental spirits of the earth. ^-^ This particular book is also set outside of England, which is a first for the series. From the Black Forest in Germany, to the remote countryside of Transylvania? Sounds like an excellent ride to me! ^-^

5 & 6 ‘Od Magic’ & ‘The Tower at Stony Wood’ – Patricia A. McKillip

I am so excited that I got two Patricia McKillip books, TWO!! ^o^ She is one of my favorite authors. I love the lyrical style of her prose and pretty much just everything about the way she writes. I can’t actually remember the basic plots of these two books, but I know they are going to be amazing! Also, Kinuko Y. Craft covers are the best.

 

This pile of birthday loot brings my Unread Book total up to 14.
If I add to the that the 11 books I’ve already read this year… I’m at 11/25, which is pretty good! ^-^ If I can just manage not to add any more books to my pile, I can probably get through them all in the next few months. Whoo! Of course, not adding more books will be harder than it sounds. haha

Here’s the rest of the books in my Unread box:

Mistborn – Brandon Sanderson
To the King A Daughter – Andre Norton
Tiger Burning Bright – Marion Zimmer Bradley, Andre Norton, Mercedes Lackey
The Iron Ring – Lloyd Alexander
Sword Art Online: Fairy Dance – Reki Kawahara
The Time Roads – Beth Bernobich
Tales From Earthsea – Ursula K. LeGuin
Cinder – Marissa Meyer

I’ve got a lot of fun reading ahead of me this year. ^-^

Author: Jennifer L. Post

For most of my life I've been imagining and playing, making up stories and writing them down. It's my dream to become a published author. Right now I'm working hard to make that happen. ^-^

2 thoughts on “Loot Review

  1. I read The Robin and the Kestral years and years ago, so long ago that I don’t remember it very well. However I’m a Mercedes Lackey fan so I I suspect it’s good. I haven’t read Blood Red but I read The Fairy Godmother, which is a play on Cinderella and I liked it a lot. Of the books on your list to read, I’ve only read Mistborn. I love that trilogy. I love Brandon Sanderson.

    Like

    • I’m a fan of Mercedes Lackey as well. ^-^ And she has so many different worlds to play in, it’s pretty great! I’ve actually read The Fairy Godmother as well, and enjoyed it. Though, I didn’t enjoy it quite as much as the first book of the Five Hundred Kingdoms that I read, which was One Good Knight. I love the whole idea of the Tradition, and the sort of self-aware fairy tale retellings that she does in the Five Hundred Kingdoms books. I also love the fact that the Elemental Masters series is sooo very different from Five Hundred Kingdoms. When you can take some of the same fairy tales/folk tales and weave them in such totally different, but still compelling and fun, ways you get tons of respect from me. It’s hard to take a tale that everyone knows and make it new… it’s even harder to do it again! XD Also, Edwardian London with magic… what’s not to love about that?

      Brandon Sanderson, I have heard tons of good things about. The only book of his that I’ve read before was Elantris, and it was excellent. So I’m fairly sure that I will enjoy Mistborn a lot when I get there. ^-^

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

