Dreamer Documents

Checking Things Off My List

Leave a comment

One of my goals this year was to go to a conference, or other writer’s gathering. Get Lit At the Beach is advertised as a gathering for readers, technically. However, there will also be five writers gathered there, and they will be talking about their work… So I think that counts. It is going on this weekend and I will be there! ^-^

From what I can tell, it is a lot smaller than many conference-y events, and that suits me perfectly. I am so shy around people I don’t know, especially when I’m not sure what I’m supposed to be doing. So a smaller event is definitely the best way for me to jump into this sort of thing. Plus, it was set up and is hosted by one of my favorite authors: Terry Brooks! *bounces* I am so excited that I will get to see him with my own eyes, and maybe talk to him! Ohmygosh, if I get to talk to Terry Brooks… I don’t even know. I might do something utterly ridiculous, like faint or hyperventilate. However, I will try very hard indeed to be a calm and somewhat professional adult.

It will be tough though.

As an extra bonus, the conference is being held in Cannon Beach, Oregon; which I hear is lovely! And my Scholar will be going with me, so we can do some strolling and whatnot. It’ll be like a small vacation. ^-^  I also plan to finally get back to working on Angel Wings… or at least to start outlining a new story. I always get great ideas at the beach. Maybe it’s the salty air. ^-^

The only thing that kind of worries me (aside from, you know, strangers) is that it will be a long drive from where we live. Somehow I had convinced myself that Cannon Beach was somewhere around Gold Beach, which is about five hours from us. Not too bad as drives go. Oh man, I was so, sooo wrong! XD Maybe you don’t know this, but Cannon Beach is almost at the top of Oregon. That’s an eight hour drive for us. So, we will be getting up super-super early tomorrow, in order to make it there with time for a nap before everything starts. I know I’m going to be nervous the whole way about being late.

My plan is to make lists and ensure that everything is pre-packed tonight and ready to go. Then we can just roll ourselves out of bed, have some breakfast and head out. We already have our traditional road-trip snacks. It’s gonna be a lot of fun. ^-^

I hope everyone has an equally awesome weekend!

Author: Jennifer L. Post

For most of my life I've been imagining and playing, making up stories and writing them down. It's my dream to become a published author. Right now I'm working hard to make that happen. ^-^

Leave a Reply

