Dreamer Documents

A Writing Update!

Leave a comment

Finally! Right? haha ^-^

Life actually threw me a vicious curve-ball on Monday. It took me awhile to come to grips with it; but today I managed to sit down and do some serious work on Take Me On. I started by going through my list of final editing decisions and notes that I have been waiting to get in touch with my editor about. In case you’re just joining me, my editor is actually a dear friend who has volunteered her time to help me out, even though she’s super busy with school and her wedding is in about a month. ^-^ I had been thinking about this a lot this weekend, because I really, really, reeeeeaaaaally want to get TMO completely finished before the first of May. But sadly, our schedules have just not been matching up at all this month.

So, I decided to put on my big-girl pants and make the decisions myself! Most of them were really just minor things I couldn’t make up my mind about anyhow. And my husband makes a pretty good sounding board for those kinds of things too. ^-^ I did pretty well, ending up with only three simple questions I felt I HAD to have her feedback on. I whisked them out to her by private message this afternoon, and I am optimistic that she’ll be able to get back to me by my deadline tomorrow.

If not, I will just have to get the big girl pants out again… because I am sending this story out tomorrow no matter what!

What really took up most of my time today was formatting. Formatting isn’t really that difficult, especially if you have a excellent guide – which I did. However, it is a bit tedious. Luckily I don’t actually mind tedious things that much if I can create my own little system for getting them done, and get into a good rhythm. One year I paid for summer camp by stuffing and hand-addressing advertisements, at twenty-five cents per finished envelope. 😀

In any case, my new manuscript is looking pretty professional, and I am super jazzed about it. This is a thing that is happening. I am actually sending my very first [polished and completed] short story out to its very first magazine!

And I’m doing it tomorrow. ^-^

Author: Jennifer L. Post

For most of my life I've been imagining and playing, making up stories and writing them down. It's my dream to become a published author. Right now I'm working hard to make that happen. ^-^

Leave a Reply

