Dreamer Documents

Writing Update

Leave a comment

I’m sorry that my posts have become so spaced out lately. I’m still dealing with after-effects of the lemon life recently sent zinging towards my head. It’s a whole long story, which I might go more into later, but suffice to say that right now apartment/room hunting is taking up a lot of my time. Not to mention the planning for our fortnight trip to Alaska, about two weeks from now, for my friend’s wedding. So, please forgive me if posts continue to be a little sparse going on into June.

In actual writing related news, as of Monday I’ve officially received my first rejection! Um, I know it’s weird but I almost want to tack a ‘yay’ on the end of that sentence. XD From the moment I hit ‘send’ on the electronic submission form, I’ve been agonizing over what the response would be. I checked my email every day, sometimes more than once. I kept thinking, “Oh my gosh, what if they like it? Wouldn’t that be AMAZING!” And then the more sensible side of me would kick in and remind me how long the odds on that really were: First polished story, first magazine ever, scads of other people who are sending stories out. Not that I haven’t heard tales of people whose stories have been picked up first time; but expecting that to happen would be like expecting to find a magical sword stuck into a stone on your walk home from work. I mean, no one makes the first jump… right?

Still, when I saw the bold font of an new unread message in my inbox, my heart gave a little skip and I thought, “What if!?” Then, in the little preview you get of the first few lines I saw the word ‘unfortunately’, and that brought me down to earth pretty quick. It wasn’t as bad as I thought it would be though. Honestly, it was a very nice rejection note. The editor even mentioned a part of the story that he liked. All in all I felt strangely accomplished after I read it, even sort of relieved. It wasn’t the sort of wholesale, “Why would you send this awful tripe?” kind of rejection which had been my secret terror.

So yeah, writer achievement unlocked: First Rejection!

Today I sent ‘Take Me On’ out to the next magazine. The wait will be a bit longer with this one I think; but I’m pretty sure I can handle it. ^-^ ONWARD!

In secondary writing news, I now have about twenty different versions of the beginning  of ‘Angel Wings’. I still can’t decide what I want to use, and I can’t move forward either. It’s a sad state of affairs. So, I think it’s time to squash my pride and ask some folk for help. Luckily I have a few good writing friends who can give me some honest and useful opinions. Hopefully they can help me sort this out, or at least just pick one and carry on writing!

Author: Jennifer L. Post

For most of my life I've been imagining and playing, making up stories and writing them down. It's my dream to become a published author. Right now I'm working hard to make that happen. ^-^

Leave a Reply

