Dreamer Documents

Up, Up, Update and Away!

Leave a comment

Airplane_01

Haha, sorry I could not resist the pun. 😉

It seems that lately I have been almost nothing but stressed out. Not that anything particularly awful has occurred, but there has just been so much to plan, organize, and get done. Staying up, with thoughts whirling in my head, until the soothing blue glow of pre-dawn creeps through my windows has become a regular occurrence in the last week or so. I guess it makes up for the all-nighters I never had to pull in high school? ^-^

Despite having to get up really early today, I feel much better. All available plans have been made, bags have been packed and double checked, and now Lucas and I are off to Alaska! In fact, I am actually writing this post from inside the Long Beach airport. ^-^ I feel like letting out a ‘woo’ and a ‘whew’ at the same time. Definitely looking forward to almost a fortnight away from home and major life decisions. Haha. Also, Alaska in the summer is a wondrous place. I intend to give Lucas the grand tour of all of my favorite spots! ^-^

I was looking at my Book Journal before I packed it, and realized that I have read almost twenty books this year. This number is completely beggared by the counts of some excellent people whom I follow… but it is still really good. It got me to thinking about how I’ve been wanting to start doing some more book posts. I think what might be fun would be to do a spread of quick reviews from my journal every month. And perhaps a more detailed review of books I particularly liked. It would help me to get a least one post up a month; not to mention letting me share books that I enjoy. ^-^ So, look for the first post of that series soon… probably when I get back from Alaska.

In other excellent news, I was able to settle on a beginning for ‘Angel Wings’, so I can finally start moving forward with the story. Yay! I’m hoping I can get it done pretty quickly. I’ve done a bit of outlining while I was wrestling with the beginning, which should help me move along pretty quickly. You can bet I will be double – perhaps triple – saving any further work on this story! Maybe I should figure out how to sync my writing folder to dropbox or something, for extra protection.

I wish that I could share my newly constructed opening paragraph here, but my research into the effects that posting excerpts from a short story has on said story’s First Serial Rights is still inconclusive. So, for now I will have to keep it to myself. However, I have been thinking of ways to share more writing here. ^-^ I think I will save further old poetry for when October comes around again, but I also have some short-shorts that need a good home somewhere. Flash fiction is also an attractive option. We’ll see how it goes.

Hope you all have an excellent couple of weeks! ^-^

Author: Jennifer L. Post

For most of my life I've been imagining and playing, making up stories and writing them down. It's my dream to become a published author. Right now I'm working hard to make that happen. ^-^

Leave a Reply

