Dreamer Documents

The Return to Earth (and Heat!)

Leave a comment

The sun preparing to duck into the edge of the horizon, as we left Anchorage.

I don’t think many people would think of Alaska as being particularly ‘lush’; but in the summer that is one of the best ways to describe it. The forests are brilliant with the most vibrant waves of green, the air is clear, and even on a rainy day it all just feels so ALIVE! Actually, the overcast days are almost better, because it seems to super-saturate all the colors outside. ^-^ Admittedly I am not well traveled, but I have yet to even find a picture that truly rivals Alaskan forests in the summertime. The Oregon coast does come close.

I really didn’t want to fly back on the 15th. Two weeks in Alaska never feels like enough… especially when you have 100 degree weather waiting for you at home! Yet, fly back we did. Unfortunately, among the souvenirs we brought back was a nasty head cold, which degenerated into a pretty bad cough. This has turned my original fortnight absence into more than three weeks. I’m still trying to shake it, and trying to muster the will to get back to writing. Well, back to blog writing anyhow. I have done a bit of work on ‘Angel Wings’. ^-^

Anyhow, for starters, I thought I’d do a quick post with a few pictures from my trip. I hope they give you a good feel of the excellence that is an Alaskan summer.

I miss these

Lupine growing on the bluff above the beach in Kenai.

 

This is actually the mouth of the Kenai River

Low tide on the beach at Kenai. It was drizzling, but we hiked down anyhow.

 

Seriously, eat here if you are ever in Soldotna.

This is the Moose Is Loose Bakery in Soldotna. Their donuts are so good! So are their cookies… and they have this thing called a “Roadkill Cinnamon Roll”. ^-^

 

Pretty good, considering it was taken from a moving car. ^-^

Tern Lake, about halfway through the 2 1/2 hour drive to Anchorage.

 

 

My family used to stop here on every trip. ^-^

Me sitting above one the waterfalls along the drive to Anchorage. There are over a dozen.

 

The view from atop the waterfall! ^-^

And here’s the view from the top of the waterfall.

 

One of the mountains on the drive through Turnagin Pass

One of the mountains on the drive through Turnagin Pass

 

Lucas is the one who braved the swinging heights. I refused! haha

This is taken from a hand operated tram over a lovely river gorge. It’s a pretty good hike to get there.

 

We really had a great time. Totally worth all the coughing. ^-^ And if my next story happens to be set in a verdant, misty mountain kingdom, now you’ll know where I got the idea!

I hope you’ve all had a good month so far as well. My next post will be more writing related. It might even involve some flash fiction. 😉 I’ll also be catching up on my blog reading and commenting. Yay! It’s good to be back.

This is on top of the waterfall also. ^-^

Author: Jennifer L. Post

For most of my life I've been imagining and playing, making up stories and writing them down. It's my dream to become a published author. Right now I'm working hard to make that happen. ^-^

Leave a Reply

