Dreamer Documents

The Smallest Things

Leave a comment

Flash fiction has been on my mind lately. Mostly in the form of, “I don’t know how to do that!” ^-^ However, recent forays into the box burial ground of my garage have unearthed some startling evidence which strongly contradicts that thought. Among the various articles of yesteryear, I have found my old writer’s club binder from high school. The nostalgia of handwritten sentence and paragraph tandem stories, and other fun games, has been pretty awesome. And, the more I flipped through the pencil-smudged leaflets from that time, the more I realized that pretty much every exercise we did was flash fiction.

So, I do know how to go about writing short stuff; it’s just that I’ve lost the knack. I feel I should fix that. Then maybe my short stories won’t go turning themselves into novellas behind my back. haha Not to mention that I will be able to share more writing here, huzzah!

In fact, I shall begin right now. Here is some super-short stuff, straight from my Skywriting files. ^-^

76 Word Challenge

I never expected it. My Mom never expected it. I dare say no one ever expected such a thing to happen in the cereal aisle at Safeway. It was horrible; Cornflakes and CoCoa Puffs flying everywhere, children screaming as they were pelted by Honeycombs and Pop-Tarts. Bloodcurdling battle cries from the assailants echoed throughout the store, mingling with the customer’s terrified shrieking. We were doomed. Everyone was doomed.

It was a Keebler Elf Invasion.

Author: Jennifer L. Post

For most of my life I've been imagining and playing, making up stories and writing them down. It's my dream to become a published author. Right now I'm working hard to make that happen. ^-^

Leave a Reply

