Dreamer Documents

The Sunshine Blogger Award

4 Comments

In a surprising and delightful turn of events, the excellent Callum McLaughlin recently nominated me for the Sunshine Blogger Award! ^-^ Thank you most kindly, Callum.

Thank You RosesHere are my answers to the 11 questions asked. ^-^

1.What’s the first book you remember loving?

Gotta be ‘The Horse and His Boy’, by C.S. Lewis. It was one of the first books I read on my own, and the adventure of it just caught my imagination. Not to mention that the characters live on the page so beautifully. I read it over and over again, until the cover had to be repaired with scotch tape… several times.

2. Are there any books you’re embarrassed to not have read yet?

If it’s a book I that I have decided isn’t for me, or one that is still on my wish list due to logistic/money reasons, that’s not something that I really get embarrassed about. What I do find embarrassing is when I acquire a book and then somehow don’t read it within a decent length of time. I almost feel I owe a formal apology to my copy of ‘Sense and Sensibility’, because I bought it about three years ago and still haven’t read it!

3. Where do you get most of your reading recommendations from?

I actually choose the majority of my books by browsing through the store. The reason is probably because I grew up with an amazing library and got used to spending hours of our trips to town just perusing the stacks for anything that caught my eye. I usually go straight to the fantasy/sci-fi section of any given book store and look through the newly released books for titles and covers that attract me. Then I read the summary or the inside cover, and if I like it I either buy it right then or put it on my book list.

Other than that, I often get great books and recommendations from my sisters. They know what kinds of things capture me, and they have good taste. ^-^

4. If you aren’t enjoying a book, do you press on or jump ship?

Unless a book is just too graphic, offensive, or horribly written, I usually press on and finish it. It used to be a pride thing, but I’ve actually discovered that there is always something to be learned from every book, even if it’s not your favorite. As a writer, at the very least I learn what kinds of things I don’t want to do with my own work. ^-^

5. Do you organize your book shelves or leave them randomly arranged?

Oh, I am an organizer for sure! ^-^ And my organizing has multiple layers. haha I usually arrange my books by various categories like ‘Stand-Alone’, ‘Series’, ‘Unread’ and so on. Then within those categories I organize them by type (books and manga mostly) and then which ones are my favorites… or sometimes by length if I feel like switching it up.

6. Which finished book/TV series do you wish could come back?

‘The Dark Is Rising Sequence’, by Susan Cooper, and ‘The Enchanted Forest Chronicles’, by Patricia C. Wrede are the first ones that come to mind. Both series end very well, and wrap up the characters’ stories nicely; but the worlds are so interesting that I can’t help but wish for more tales set there.

There are several more I can think of, but they all require a time machine/reality warping device. 😦 Someone get on that!

7. Do you prefer paperbacks, hardbacks or ebooks?

I prefer paperbacks; mainly because they are a bit cheaper and I can fit more of them on a shelf than hardbacks. ^-^ I have gotten into ebooks recently, to support awesome indie folk and get compendiums of older work that is hard to find in print; but nothing beats the feel of a paper book. The weight of it in your hand, the fluttering of the pages, even the smell of books is wonderful. ^-^

8. Do you make a TBR each month or let your mood guide your reading?

I generally let my mood guide me; because I feel that I enjoy what I’m reading more when I do. Sometimes I limit myself to only books from my unread pile, but even then I don’t put them in any particular order. This is probably why I have a couple of books that have been kicking around my house for a few years without being read.

*bows* Sorry again, Sense and Sensibility!

9. Do you have a favourite genre?

Fantasy is definitely my favorite for reading, as well as writing. Since I was a little girl I’ve loved all the amazing and strange elements that are often in fantasy stories; especially fun magic systems and dragons of all types. ^-^ I also love the way that fantasy removes us from our own world, often giving us the ability to look at difficult subjects and ideas in a different light, and sometimes without initially realizing that’s what we are doing.

10. What was the last book that really took you by surprise (be it for good or bad reasons)?

Juliet Marilliner’s ‘Wildwood Dancing’, which I read in March.  From the summary, I knew that it was a retelling of The Twelve Dancing Princesses set in Romania. What surprised me was how real and well-rounded the setting felt, and how well she wove actual Romanian folklore right into the story itself. ^-^ Some of the choices she made in adapting the story also surprised me… in a good way. She even managed to sneak a second fairytale in under my nose.

11. What got you into blogging?

Although I previously had a sort of journal blog, what really got me into serious blogging was my decision to start working hard on my writing career. Becoming an author has been my dream for a long time, and last year I decided it was time to stop putting that dream on the back burner. I thought that a blog would be both a good starting platform, and a way to keep myself accountable and push forward with my writing. ^-^


I find that I agree with other people who prefer to nominate fewer than the 11 I hear you’re supposed to. So, I’m going to follow in their footsteps and keep it more personal. ^-^ I would like to nominate Kristi S. Simpson (although I know she is on vacation right now), Mishka Jenkins, and Sara C. Roethle. I would also like to nominate Victoria Grefer and Drew Chial, even though I know they have been nominated for this award before. All of you folk are excellent, and have certainly inspired me in a positive and creative way!

If you have time and the desire to accept this award, here are your questions. ^-^ (And if not, that’s okay. I will still think you’re awesome!)

1. When was the last time you stepped outside of your comfort zone?
2. What was the last book you read that made you feel emotional in some way?
3. What is your favorite color to look at/have around you, and your favorite color to wear?
4. Is there a place that you’d really love to go someday?
5. What quote has really inspired you lately?
6. If you could build a house or lair anywhere, where would it be?
7. Do you have a nostalgic item that you refuse to get rid of?
8. If you were a bird, what kind would you be?
9. What’s a goal you are currently workng towards?
10. How do you feel about dragons?
11. What are some themes you often find showing up in your work?

Author: Jennifer L. Post

For most of my life I've been imagining and playing, making up stories and writing them down. It's my dream to become a published author. Right now I'm working hard to make that happen. ^-^

4 thoughts on “The Sunshine Blogger Award

  1. I really enjoyed reading your answers!

    I also love browsing through a book store; you never know what hidden gems you may uncover 🙂

    Like

  2. Congrats on the nomination. That’s lovely. 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

