Dreamer Documents

Poetry Month Fridays – Fly

Leave a comment

Once you were a little chick,
so soft and downy white.
Now, all grown up,
with wings and dreams,
you’re taking your first flight.

A Crane is what I’d call you,
elgegant, poised, and tall.
I know those long legs,
and powerful wings,
will never let you fall.

Sister, daughter, barista supreme
you’re first to leave the nest.
And I hope you can see,
despite envious looks,
that we wish you all the best!

So spread your phoenix wings and fly
over desert, seas, whatever.
And know in your heart
that, wherever you go,
we’ll always be birds of a feather.

And we’ll stick together.


Although the title has undergone a last minute change, this is still the first of my ‘Feathers’ series. ^-^ The original draft was actually written in a card shortly before the going-away party for my sister Fannie, when she first moved to Seattle a few years ago.  I got the idea about fifteen minutes before everyone arrived… never finished anything so quickly since. XD

Author: Jennifer L. Post

For most of my life I've been imagining and playing, making up stories and writing them down. It's my dream to become a published author. Right now I'm working hard to make that happen. ^-^

Leave a Reply

