Dreamer Documents

Poetry Month Fridays – Zip

Leave a comment

(Slightly belated ‘Friday’. Can’t believe I forgot! >.< Sorry!)

Always zipping and zooming about,
with hardly a pause for rest,
our valiant little hummingbird
is second to leave the nest.

Bright-eyed girl with a carefree smile,
you’re the littlest sister, it’s true;
but when the going gets rough you are tough enough.
Only fools would mess with you!

So flaunt your colors and brandish your sword.
Keep that confidence, seize the day!
Set your sights on all of the sweet things in life;
don’t let anything stand in your way.

And though you zoom off, out of our sight,
you should know this will always be true:
All of your hope may be in yourself,
but we’ll always be here for you.

Cause we yo crew!


After writing ‘Fly’, I decided that any Post-girl leaving the house for the first time was going to need a poem. I particularly liked the premise I had already set up, of a bird leaving the nest, and decided to continue it. Hence ‘Feathers’. ^-^

This, the second poem in the series, was written for my youngest sister, before she left for Navy boot-camp.

 

Author: Jennifer L. Post

For most of my life I've been imagining and playing, making up stories and writing them down. It's my dream to become a published author. Right now I'm working hard to make that happen. ^-^

Leave a Reply

