Dreamer Documents

Poetry Month Fridays – Soar

Leave a comment

Oh mighty golden eagle,
in your rightful place of three,
what goes on behind those eyes
as you’re gazing out to sea?

Are you thinking of the updrafts
that will loft you oh so high?
Or the wondrous lonely feeling
of an endless, open sky?

You always had the largest wings,
the sharpest, keenest sight;
fierce talons, plus a heart of gold,
and the strength to do what’s right.

Face all your storms and challenges
the way you have from the start,
and know that however far you fly
we’re never too far apart

when we’re in your heart.


 

This third ‘Feathers’ poem was written for my middle sister, who also went into the Navy. I was still working on it when she left, so I ended up sending it in one of my letters. ^-^

Author: Jennifer L. Post

For most of my life I've been imagining and playing, making up stories and writing them down. It's my dream to become a published author. Right now I'm working hard to make that happen. ^-^

Leave a Reply

