Dreamer Documents

Poetry Month Fridays – Rise

Leave a comment

Four different voices raised to sing
heart-mending harmony.
Four little chicks who grew to be
four women, bright and free.

I think it plain no Mother Hen
could hatch out such as these,
nor any grey-plumed Mockingbird
who huddles in the trees.

When the world had turned to ashes
you rose up from its pyre;
so proud and brave, and beautiful,
with wings of dream and fire.

Dear Phoenix send your heart with me,
your little Turtledove,
as off I fly to build my nest
and fill it full of love.

Your strong and hopeful love.


Despite being the eldest, I was the last of the Post girls to leave home; and I thought it would be fitting to write the last poem for my Mom. It took almost a year to get it just right. Luckily, I had a long engagement. ^-^

Author: Jennifer L. Post

For most of my life I've been imagining and playing, making up stories and writing them down. It's my dream to become a published author. Right now I'm working hard to make that happen. ^-^

Leave a Reply

