Dreamer Documents

Poetry Month Fridays – A Song of Crane and Heron

Leave a comment

Once there lived a Heron,
by the ocean wide and blue,
who met a snowy Crane.
To the city she was new.

She said, “I’d love some fish.
Let’s go together! If you would?”
He smiled a little smile at her
and simply said, “Sounds good!”

Oh happy were they then
and happy they shall be.
No two such as they
in the city by the sea.

Said the Heron to the Crane,
“I love your sapphire eyes,
your honesty, your wit;
how I love the way you fly!”

And the Crane replied to him,
“I love your open heart,
your gentleness, your smile;
so let’s never be apart!”

Oh happy were they then
and happy they shall be.
No two such as they
in the city by the sea.

They sent for friends and family.
From near and far they came
to see the joyous union of
the Heron and the Crane.

Before this loving company
they stood, with eyes ashine.
Said Heron, “Here’s my hand and heart.”
Said Crane, “And here is mine.”

“Feather twined with feather
forever we shall be,
wing in wing together
in our city by the sea.”

Yes, happy were they then
and happy they shall be.
No love such as theirs,
it is wider than the sea.


This poem was written, by request, for my sister Fannie’s wedding. ^-^ It is currently the last of my ‘Feathers’ poems, and I thought that it would be the perfect bonus poem for the last week of Poetry Month. I hope that you’ve enjoyed the series!

Author: Jennifer L. Post

For most of my life I've been imagining and playing, making up stories and writing them down. It's my dream to become a published author. Right now I'm working hard to make that happen. ^-^

Leave a Reply

