Dreamer Documents

All Around Update

1 Comment

Things have been slow/stalled around the blog lately. So, I thought I ought to do a quick update to prove I’m still here.  ^-^ For blog things specifically: There will not be a Reading Journal this month.

As far as personal stuff goes, things have been rough. In mid October, one of my oldest friends took her own life… so I have been dealing with that as best I can. It’s something that I still have no words for. Sometimes I think maybe never. Finding words for anything at all was almost impossible for awhile. If they hadn’t been older work, I probably would not have been able to finish my poetry month posts.

Also, my Scholar hasn’t had any luck with jobs so far. To keep us from going to far into our savings, I decided to go look for a job of my own. I found one on my first try, for which I am very grateful! ^-^ It’s only part-time, but it will help a bit. Also, new experiences to channel into my writing, so yay!

As for said writing… Well, everything I was working on when it happened is on the shelf for a bit. I just can’t make myself look at it. I’m also not doing NaNo in any form this year. I did get my words back after awhile though, and I’m working on a new short story that I really enjoy. It’s about wizard architecture students. ^-^

Also in awesome news, I found a great writing group here in Seattle! It’s not a feedback/critique group, just some folk who get together and write for a couple of hours every week. Getting out of the house and just focusing on my writing, with occasional chatting, has been so helpful for me. The story is moving along well, and I even powered through a confrontation scene that I felt really awkward about. Huzzah!

I also took Romaine out of the drawer this week. The Scholar has had his read-through, so now I’m going to look at it for the first time and do some quick revisions… and then give it to some volunteer beta readers for serious notes about what works and what doesn’t. ^-^

Author: Jennifer L. Post

For most of my life I've been imagining and playing, making up stories and writing them down. It's my dream to become a published author. Right now I'm working hard to make that happen. ^-^

One thought on “All Around Update

  1. I am so sorry to hear about your friend. I hope you are getting better. Congrats on finding a job!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

