Dreamer Documents

Writing Update

Leave a comment

I completed the wizardy short story I was working on! Huzzah! I feel really good about it too, partially because it didn’t turn into a behemoth like the last one. I think it may be less that 6,000 words when it’s all typed up, even less when I edit it. I think that’s going to be a lot more marketable than TMO’s 9,000+ word count. ^-^ One thing I feel odd about is that it still doesn’t have even a working title; that never happens with me.

Another thing I finished up this month is the typo edit for Romaine. It’s all ready for some beta readers to peruse… but I haven’t yet gotten that whole thing organized. It’s pretty simple, I already have a few people who said they’d be interested. I just need to get in contact with all of them and figure whether I want to do this in more of a group setting, maybe with Google docs or Dropbox, or whether I want to stick with the classic approach and just send the story out by email. At this point though, between work and family stuff, I think beta organizing might have to wait till after Christmas. For that matter, so will typing up the second draft of my wizard story.

Another thing I need to get back on track with is sending Take Me On out to magazines; since I still have two more to try before I send it to serious editing. After the events of October, I’ve been focused on just getting my rhythm of life and writing back, but I think I’m about ready to jump back into the fray! Again, after Christmas. ^-^

In the meantime, I do have a couple of flash fiction pieces to work on during downtime and lunch breaks at work. I’ve also got a book tag for Christmas, and another Reading Journal Special going up this month. It feels really nice to be busy with writing. ^-^

Now I have to go out and finish some Christmas shopping. Good luck to anyone else doing the same!

Author: Jennifer L. Post

For most of my life I've been imagining and playing, making up stories and writing them down. It's my dream to become a published author. Right now I'm working hard to make that happen. ^-^

Leave a Reply

