Dreamer Documents

All-Around Update

Leave a comment

I’ve been a bit silent this month. The main reason is that I’ve been working tons of extra hours at my new job. Yep, bringing home the turkey bacon like a boss! ^-^ The side reason is that the Scholar and I have been looking for an apartment, and the stress has been getting to me. Sooooo, lots of Netflix and Legend of Dragoon.

I don’t know if it’s because I am a reader and a writer, but there are times in my life when I can almost see the chapter breaks. I feel a page turn; and then there’s only a short paragraph and a bit of blank page left before the beginning of a whole new chapter. That’s how I felt when I stepped on the little plane that started my family’s move back to California. And, when I walked down the aisle at my wedding. ^-^

It’s how I felt about a week ago, when we signed the lease to our first apartment.

Oh my gosh, we have OUR OWN PLACE! ^o^

House Keys

We even have Chocobo and Lucky Cat house keys, like adults! ^-^

 

A week had gone by since we got the keys, and it has been wonderful. We don’t even have all of our furniture and books up here yet, and I’m still enjoying it. 😀 I don’t know if I’ve mentioned it before, but this is the first time that my husband and I have ever lived on our own. We’ve always had roommates in some form or another. The sheer amount of us being ALONE is… I mean, wow. It’s the best.

Even better, tomorrow my excellent in-laws arrive with all of our stuff. After almost three years I can unpack the wonderful wedding presents we received and put them wherever I want! My books will be unboxed, even shelved! Finally I’ll be in my own home, with my own things about me – as Mary Kate Danaher would say. (And if you haven’t seen ‘The Quiet Man’, you should. I mean, Maureen O’Hara and John Wayne in Ireland, come on!)

On the writing front, things have been moving slowly but surely. Romaine is out for beta reading, with quite a good group of people. I’ve told them all that I need any notes back by March 1rst, which is when I plan to start my next editing run. I’m keeping up with my regular writing mostly at Thursday writing group. My unnamed wizard story is about halfway typed up, and I have first drafts for two flash fiction pieces.

I’ve also started putting together the little bits from the beginning of a troll short story that I started last year. It’s based partly on an something that happened to Lucas and I while driving home from Portland for the third or fourth time last year. The working title is ‘Beneath the Red Lantern’, and I’m hoping to make it my next short story project.

As for reading, I haven’t done a lot of it this month. I started the second Elric of Melnibone book, Sailor On the Seas of Fate; but haven’t finished it yet. A little sad, considering that it’s only about 200 pages. I definitely need to find more time for reading in February! I have way too many interesting books lined up this year to miss any time. ^-^ Not to mention the re-reading I’m sure to be doing with all of my books within my reach once more.

I can almost hear Scent of Magic calling to me now…

I hope you all had a great January! ^-^

Author: Jennifer L. Post

For most of my life I've been imagining and playing, making up stories and writing them down. It's my dream to become a published author. Right now I'm working hard to make that happen. ^-^

Leave a Reply

