Dreamer Documents

Unread Books

2 Comments

We finally got all of our books out of their boxes. Currently they are either on a shelf, or stacked on the floor awaiting a shelf/storage place; because Lucas and I have a lot of books. A LOT! ^-^ I was actually surprised how many we had when they were combined. Even more surprising: how many unread books I actually have.

I took a picture of them for you…

It's like a castle rampart!

I counted 73… O.O!

Now, I did include a few books that I had only partially read, and wanted to read again, as well as one library book. Still, it boggles my mind how many books I actually own that I haven’t read! And, this isn’t even counting a few that I have on my kindle. It just feels wrong. So wrong.

Looking through them a bit, I realized my unread books fall into four categories.

  1. Books from my childhood, mainly from school, that I never got around to reading.
  2. Trilogies that I bought all together
  3. Old books from used book stores that sounded interesting
  4. Newer books that I just haven’t gotten to yet

And when I divide them up that way, I can see how they started to accumulate. A lot of the ones I already owned have been in boxes for many years, boxes that I dug through only when looking for old favorites. Others were added, and boxed with each move… until you get this giant stack!

I think that, I probably won’t make my goal to read everything in my ‘unread’ box this year. XD

That being said, I will try. I’ve already read one so far! Another part of my plan is not to buy any books this year that I haven’t already read. We’ll see how that goes. I will probably still get books from the library, because I HAVE A LIBRARY CARD NOW!! ^-^ But, no perusing used bookstores, or buying whole sets of things straight off the shelves. I will try very hard to be good…

But I make no promises! ^-^

Hope you’re having a great week, and that your unread pile isn’t too big! And, if you’re interested in seeing the full list of books in my unread pile, just scroll past this picture of Leonard Nimoy with a kitten.

leonard_nimoy_and_kitten

Seriously one of the best pictures! ^-^

Jenn’s Unread Books (with some attempt at order, by author)

Andre Norton: 
Galactic Derelict
The Defiant Agents
Key Out of Time

Forerunner
Quag Keep
Lore of the Witch World
Spell of the Witch World

Star Ka’at – Andre Norton & Dorthy Madlee
To the King A Daughter – Andre Norton & Sasha Miller

Gail Tsukiyama:
Women of the Silk
The Samurai’s Garden
The Language of Threads

Joyce Ballou Gregorian:
The Broken Citadel
Castledown
The Great Wheel

Kenneth C. Flint:
Isle of Destiny
The Riders of the Sidhe

Mercedes Lackey:
The Robin & The Kestrel

Blood Red (finished this one yesterday! ^-^)
From A High Tower

Michael Scott Rohan:
The Anvil of Ice
The Forge In the Forest
The Hammer of the Sun

Patricia McKillip:
Od Magic
The Tower At Stony Wood

Piers Anthony:
Split Infinity
Blue Adept
Juxtaposition

Robin McKinely:
Deerskin

Fire: Tales of Elemental Spirits – with Peter Dickenson

Tamora Pierce:
Melting Stones
Wolf-Speaker
The Woman Who Rides Like A Man

Other:
Raistlin Chronicles – Maragaret Weis & Don Perrin
Dragons of the Hourglass Mage – Margaret Weis & Tracy Hickman

An Unexpected Apprentice – Jody Lynn Nye
Crisis on Doona – Anne McCaffery & Jody Lynn Nye

Swan Sister – Ellen Daltow & Terri Windling (editors)
Bridge to Terebithia – Katherine Paterson
Adam of the Road – Elizabeth Jane Grey
Roller Skates – Ruth Sawyer
Ever – Gail Carson Levine
Sense & Sensibility – Jane Austen
The Islands of Chaldea – Diana Wynne Jones
The Highest Tide – Jim Lynch
Cinder – Malissa Meyer
Tales From Earthsea – Ursula K. Leguin
Humphrey Bogart – Taschen
Sword Art Online Progressive – Reki Kawahara
The Thurber Carnival – James Thurber
Uprooted – Naomi Novik
Otto of the Silver Hand – Pyle/Dover
The Runelords – David Farland
Journey to the Center of the Earth – Jules Verne
Shapechangers Song – Jennifer Roberson
Bard – Keith Taylor
Don Quixote
The Adventures of the Stainless Steel Rat – Harry Harrison
The Unlikely Ones – Mary Brown
A Canticle For Leibowitz – Walter M. Miller Jr.
Into the Green – Charles de Lint
Mistborn – Brandon Sanderson
Night’s Daughter – Marion Zimmer Bradley
White Fang – Jack London
The Lies of Locke Lamora – Scott Lynch

Plays:
Hamlet
Julius Ceasar
King Lear
Oedipus the King & Antigone

On My Kindle:
Station Eleven – Emily St. John Mandel
The Dark Thorn – Shawn Speakman
Prophecy of Stones – Mishka Jenkins
Bitter Ashes – Sara C. Roethle
Seeking Sorrow – Zen DiPietro
Visions of Distant Shore – Andre Norton compilation (seven novellas I think)

Author: Jennifer L. Post

For most of my life I've been imagining and playing, making up stories and writing them down. It's my dream to become a published author. Right now I'm working hard to make that happen. ^-^

2 thoughts on “Unread Books

  1. I could not refrain from commenting. Very well written!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

