Dreamer Documents

Writing Update!

2 Comments

I had some really long hours at work last month! I managed to keep up with my writing pretty well though, by bringing notebooks to work and writing during my break, as well as attending weekly writers group. ^-^

My big project right now is Romaine. I was hoping to be well into editing at this point, but I’ve only gotten a couple of notes back from my beta readers, so I’ve been waiting hopefully for a few more before I dive in. The notes I have gotten so far have been super helpful though. There are a few loose threads that I apparently didn’t tie up/explain as well as I thought I had. They involve character motivations… one of the things you definitely don’t want people to be confused about!

I’ve made some notes on how I can possibly clarify those plot points, and that will probably be the first thing I do when I start editing. This story is so much longer than any other story I’ve ever finished… I’m going to need all the notes and lists I can get! I’m also keeping track of how I’m figuring out this process, so I can write a blog post about it at a later date. ^-^

Other than Romaine, I’ve finished typing up the second draft of my wizard story. I’m planning to print it out and do the first typo edit this week at writers group. I’ve also made a list of potential titles. Naturally, I still can’t pick one that I like. XD

Here they are, in case you are curious:

Tarken’s Lachryma
Turbulent Waters
Adventures In Magical Plumbing
Under the River Palace
The Repair Job

I usually don’t have a hard time coming up with names and titles, so this is driving me a little crazy. The list helps though. Hopefully the right title will be more obvious once I finish editing. ^-^

The other story I’m working on is called ‘Beneath the Red Lantern’. It’s about a troll awakening after a long sleep, and I’m almost finished with the first draft now. I’m going to keep working on it between editing things, and hopefully it will be ready for its own editing by the end of the month. ^-^

And as a final reminder to myself: I really need to put ‘Take Me On’ back into editing as well. If I can get it down to 9,000 words, I think I have a perfect market for it…

Time to buckle down and WRITE ALL THE THINGS!! ^-^

Author: Jennifer L. Post

For most of my life I've been imagining and playing, making up stories and writing them down. It's my dream to become a published author. Right now I'm working hard to make that happen. ^-^

2 thoughts on “Writing Update!

  1. THE REPAIR JOB

    Liked by 1 person

    • Actually, I’ve realized that ‘The Repair Job’ is the name of a short story from the Harry Harrison Mega-pack that I have. Soooo I think I’m not going to use it. ^-^ Too bad, because it was definitely in the running!

      Like

Leave a Reply

