Dreamer Documents

April Update

1 Comment

So it’s been over a month since my last post. Considering that post was about failure, this fact may seem a little ominous… The truth is that almost nothing I did this month felt worthy of its own post. More like a sentence or two each. And, since I’m still somewhat wary of Twitter, I thought I’d combine them all together in an all-together update for April. ^-^ And a quick overview of my writing plans for May.

Life – The long work hours continue. I was expecting them to level off a bit. Then we ended up being down a person, so everyone’s working loooong shifts until we fill in the gaps. I’m beginning to think this might always be how it is at this job. XD Such is life, I guess!

In more fun news, I went to Get Lit At the Beach again, at the beginning of the month. Lucas was even able to go with me this time. ^-^ I have to admit that one of the highlights for me was that Terry Brooks remembered me from last year, and we chatted a bit. *shiny eyes* Much like last year, I had a great time listening to the presenting authors talk about their careers and processes. Lucas and I also met some great people that we hung out with, and it was just a fabulous weekend all around!

We were really good and bought only one book. A craft book no less! 😉 It’s called, How to Write A Sizzling Sex Scene, by Elizabeth Engstrom. (One of the presenting authors of the weekend) My writing doesn’t tend to involve those kinds of scenes; but it seems like good research in case I ever want to get a little more serious with my romantic plot arcs… like a sizzling kiss scene maybe. ^-^ haha

Reading – To be honest, between work and trip planning, I actually forgot to post my Reading Journal for this month. I’m a little glad that I did though, since it gives me a bit more space from the end of my available books to write about. Reading, of new books at least, has been a bit slow lately. The last couple books I’ve picked, off of my unread books list, I just didn’t enjoy very much. Not to mention that I have all of my books on shelves now, and old favorites are calling to me. ^-^ In fact, I blitzed through The Blue Sword the other day. It was wonderful! Oh Robin McKinely, you are so excellent. *happy sigh*

I’m hoping to do more reading in May, but I think I’ll have to start scheduling reading time in order to do it. We’ll see how it goes. Currently I’m reading The High Druid’s Blade, by Terry Brooks. Next on my list… well right now I can’t decide between a short story compilation from Robin McKinely and Peter Dickenson, or an intriguing novel by a fellow blog writer. ^-^ I may have to flip a coin for this one!

Writing – Writing continues to be done! My wizard story has been polished, given the title of ‘Turbulent Waters’, and sent out into the world. I received a rejection from the first magazine pretty quickly. Now I’m waiting to hear from another one. It could be up to 40 days… Currently, I’m just doing my level best to not check my email more than once a day. ^-^ I got a smart phone for my birthday, so it’s a lot more difficult this time around though. XD

I’m currently typing up the second draft of ‘Beneath the Red Lantern’. Trying to get it all set for editing by the end of the month. It looks like it may end up being even shorter that TW; which is pretty cool. I hope this means that my writing is getting tighter as I go along. And speaking of short things,  I actually have another flash fiction piece all typed up as well. I’m struggling between maybe submitting it somewhere or posting it here. Either way, it needs a quick edit first.

My editing for Romaine is still not very far along. I’ve been having more fun writing about trolls and plotting other short stories… ^-^ Also, I really haven’t known where to start. I’m dealing with adjusting the subtle clues about my villain’s motives, as well as a subplot basically told in tiny notes scattered throughout the story… that’s a lot more complexity than I’m used to dealing with in an edit. I do have a few ideas now, so it seems a little distance from the process was a good thing.

Which brings me to my plans for May! ^-^

They basically boil down to edit, edit, edit. I have several short stories that are either at the point where they need editing, or could use a closer look and some cuts. (I’m looking at you, ‘Take Me On’) I’d also like to spend some time concentrating on what I need to do for Romaine. The ideas I mentioned above mostly involve a lot of highlighting. Maybe I’ll even print everything out so I can under-line and circle things to my heart’s content. ^-^

Another thing I want to focus on in May is my writing routine. As I said, long hours at work are not letting up the way I had hoped they would, and are really sapping me creatively. I still have my two hours at writing group every week, and they are wonderful; but it’s becoming clear to me that I need to make a plan to write at least a little bit every day, or I won’t be able to make any significant progress.

I’m going to start small and set myself a goal of writing for at least 20 minutes when I get home from work, and on at least one day of the weekend. That’s basically another two hours every week spent writing. Not bad at all! We’ll see how it goes.

Author: Jennifer L. Post

For most of my life I've been imagining and playing, making up stories and writing them down. It's my dream to become a published author. Right now I'm working hard to make that happen. ^-^

One thought on “April Update

  1. Glad you’re getting things done and making plans for more. Best of luck!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

