Dreamer Documents

May Update

Leave a comment

Is it almost June already? Good goshness, I feel like I’ve barely gotten anything done at all this month! There has to be two more weeks left, right? *sigh*

I’ve been doing so well this year, but May was definitely a record bad month for writing. (Reading too, I got through like one book. >.<) The superstitious voice in my head says it is because I made a plan to do something big and specific this month: editing. To be honest, it’s probably more because I missed every single Writer’s Group meeting due to bad scheduling at work and being sick. Also, the end of ‘Beneath the Red Lantern’ is stumping me right now. It’s one of those weird head-spaces I get into where every thing I think to write sounds stupid.

I did manage to edit a flash fiction, which I plan to post next month. ^-^ I also got together with the Life Enrichment director at my work and came in to read a couple short stories to the residents. Definitely one f the high-points of the month! I had so much fun, and they all seemed to enjoy the stories. I learned something very interesting from this experience: reading your work to an audience makes you acutely aware of all the odd phrases and sentences that need tweaking. I actually found myself changing some wording around as I read, because it just sounded better. I even skipped a sentence or two. O.O

Maybe reading to an audience isn’t everyone’s cup of tea, but I really recommend it. At the very least, read out loud to yourself as if you have an audience.

 

The other high point of the month is that Lucas and I celebrated our third anniversary! ^-^ We went out to a high-end restaurant and everything! I told Lucas my only request was somewhere I could wear my lace dress without feeling out of place. Boy did he deliver! haha

Sooo much lace! ^-^

Lucas did all the planning this year; but I did request somewhere fancy enough to wear my lace dress.

I have to admit that I got really emotional, thinking about how our lives have changed since May of last year. It was just a really wonderful night. And then we spent the next day holed up in a couch-fort in the living room… you know, like proper adults! ^-^

Hopefully I have better progress to report at the end of next month, and more posts for the blog! I’m not making any specific plans though, just in case. XD All I really want is to get my creative flow going again …and maybe hear back from the magazine I sent ‘Turbulent Waters’ out to in April…

Author: Jennifer L. Post

For most of my life I've been imagining and playing, making up stories and writing them down. It's my dream to become a published author. Right now I'm working hard to make that happen. ^-^

Leave a Reply

