Dreamer Documents

June Update

Leave a comment

Summer is difficult, apparently. XD That’s all I can think of to say about my lack of blog posts this month. I even had a flash fiction ready to go, and just forgot to put it up! *sigh*

Interestingly, the amount of writing and reading I’ve done this month is actually up from May’s sad numbers.

Although I still haven’t finished ‘Beneath the Red Lantern’, I had one of those flashes of insight into how I can simplify the ending to where it doesn’t feel painfully pretentious. I’m hoping to get that hashed out at writer’s group tonight. I also added to one of the vague ideas previously written down in my notebook. It basically involves a person wandering into the midst of a gathering of folktale creatures from various cultures. Still needs some clarifying and research, but it should be fun to write. ^-^

And, I had a huge surge of inspiration after finally watching the movie, “Little Big Soldier”. (Which is excellent in so many ways! Go watch it!) One of the lines said by Jackie Chan’s character in the movie just sparked my imagination, and suddenly I’m writing the opening paragraphs of a new story… in first person! I think I was in 10th grade the last time I wrote a story in first person. O.O Another interesting thing is that this is the first story I’ve written that has a bit of a salacious element to it. A very little bit, but it’s such an unknown writing element for me that it feels like a big deal. I’m interested to see how I do. haha

Reading this month was helped mainly by the fact that I went on vacation with my in-laws and nieces, and had to take a rather long train/bus to get there. ^-^ Got through two and half books, and just started a really lovely Patricia A. McKillip story yesterday. Looking forward to checking more great reads off of my unread list next month!

I want to say I have plans for more blogs posts in July… (actually I do!) …but at this point I think we’ll just have to wait and see how it goes. I hope you all have a great summer. ^-^

Author: Jennifer L. Post

For most of my life I've been imagining and playing, making up stories and writing them down. It's my dream to become a published author. Right now I'm working hard to make that happen. ^-^

Leave a Reply

