Dreamer Documents

It’s 2017 And I’m Still Alive…

Leave a comment

This is about the best thing I can say right now.

My last post was in July of last year, ugh. Honestly, I always get hit by this weird malaise in the summer; and since I didn’t feel like I had a lot to talk about, there didn’t seem to be a reason to keep fighting it. I’m usually myself again when the cold starts to creep back in October, so I figured I’d get back to posting then. I underestimated how much the anniversary of my friend’s death, in October, was going to affect me.

And then November happened…

I’m glad to say that even though I haven’t been able to sit down and write a post for the blog, I have been working on my other writing. At a snail’s pace sometimes, but working nonetheless. ^-^ So, even though it’s way past New Year’s at this point, I’m going to go ahead and do my usual goal review anyhow.

I had kind of a long list for 2016. Let’s see how I did!

Goal 1. Write at least two short stories – 100%! ^-^ Wrote a story about a troll, and one about a phoenix as well. My troll story, Beneath the Red Lantern, is actually fully edited, formatted, and ready to be sent out into the unforgiving ether!

Goal 2. Find a home for ‘Take Me On’ – Did not do this. It kinda required going back and editing more, and I was pretty involved in charging forward on other projects. If I don’t find a magazine for it this year, I think I’ll put it up here on the blog.

Goal 3. Do editing for “Romaine” and unnamed wizard story – Mostly got this one. The wizard story was edited and finished, and titled “Turbulent Waters”. I did a BIT of editing on Romaine, but got overwhelmed and decided to put it away again. I’ve been thinking about some changes for it throughout the last year, however. Almost time for another try. ^-^

Goal 4. Send more than one story out to magazines and such – Nope. I sent out “Turbulent Waters”, but didn’t finish any other stories till later in the year.

Goal 5. Keep the blog going – Ummm… mostly? I did manage to post at least once for half the year. Okay, I kinda feel bad about this one. *sigh*

Goal 6. Read my current box of unread books – Definitely did not get this one! However, after finding out I actually had a grand total of 74 unread books in my possession, I knew it was unlikely I was going to. XD I did make some progress though! ^-^

Goal 7. Get settled into our own place – Done! We got all of our stuff sorted, bought a lamp and a bookshelf… oh yeah, we’ve been getting pretty cozy. ^-^ And in a less physical sense, we’ve been settling down and starting to do fun things in our neighborhood again: DnD games, hanging out with friends, finding new favorite restaurants, even voting! ^-^

It’s pretty heartening that I did better than expected with my goals. Huzzah for being specific and reasonable! lol

Goals for 2017:
-Write at least two short stories
-Find a home for my unsold stories
-Post some shorts/flash fiction on the blog
-Edit “Romaine”
-Send out more than one story to magazines and such

-Keep the blog going!
-Read at least HALF of my current unread books
-Go to some marches, get involved, and be a good White Mage out there
-Go to some conventions here in Seattle

A lot of these are recurring goals, so hopefully I do better with them this year! I honestly don’t feel very ambitious. I’m not even sure that I’ve quite escaped this whirlpool of depression I’ve been dealing with. That being said, I am still going to do my very best this year. I’m gonna fight as hard as I can.

I hope you all will too… *hugs*

 

Author: Jennifer L. Post

For most of my life I've been imagining and playing, making up stories and writing them down. It's my dream to become a published author. Right now I'm working hard to make that happen. ^-^

Leave a Reply

