Dreamer Documents

Quick Update and NaNo Plans

Leave a comment

There hasn’t been a ton of posting going on here since January, so I thought I’d do a quick update. ^-^

General Update *salutes*

Life is trending about the same as it was earlier this year. I’m choosing to focus on dealing with how things are atm, but I have a few hopeful plans for changing things up and finding a better steady-job/writing work ratio. We’ll see how it goes.

In other news, you can find me on Twitter now! What!? I started earlier this year, and was surprised to find it not nearly as terrifying as I’d thought. If you’d like to check out my ramblings in real-time, my handle is @JennIsWriting. Be advised that my writing updates are still scattered and I have a lot of feels about things political… I also live-tweet Critical Role on most Thursdays. If all that sounds good, come on over. ^-^

I’m planning on doing some updating and fixing things around the blog. Part of that is making my drop-down writing lists smaller by moving some poems from pages to posts. If you’re a follower of this blog, that means you’ll probably be getting a few notifications for ‘old’ posts. I may also change the theme, but I’m not sure.

Writing Update

I’ve been crawling steadily along this year. I finished and edited my phoenix story; now titled “A Sparrow’s Death”. I’m actually very proud of it, even though it hasn’t found a home yet. That kinda makes rejections sting a little bit more, but it’s helping me grow so, uh, bring it! *brave face*

I also finished and edited a little Critical Role fan-fic called “From A Clear Blue Sky“, then posted it on the blog. It was super fun, and something that really helped me through dark places last year. Check it out, if you haven’t seen it on the blog-roll already.

Currently, I’m in a big idea-crafting phase. It’s nice because it gives me a chance to plot and draw out plans for a few different stories; but it’s also a bit of a hole where no writing is getting done. I’m hoping to use my ‘yearly writing therapy’ to bust out of this trend. Which brings me to…

NaNoWriMo Plans

I’ve decided to actually participate this year! Once again, however, I will be doing a Jenn-style NaNo. For more on what exactly that entails, you can check out this post.

Basically, this is what it breaks down to:
-500 words a day basic goal (15,000 total)
-Focusing on short-fiction work
-Getting back into a habit of writing

Last time I did this, I blasted through my goal. It was a nice refresher for daily writing habits, as well as the small confidence boost I needed to finish up ‘Romaine’. I’m hoping to reproduce the results this year.  Expect some weekly updates about it next month, including what stories I’m working on. If anyone else is doing something similar, I’d love to hear about it! We could have Short-Fic NaNo support group. ^-^

And that’s all the updates I’ve got for today! Hope everyone is having a good month… also, get out there and VOTE this week! Seriously! Bye now.

Author: Jennifer L. Post

For most of my life I've been imagining and playing, making up stories and writing them down. It's my dream to become a published author. Right now I'm working hard to make that happen. ^-^

Leave a comment