Dreamer Documents

2017 NaNo Notes: Week 1

1 Comment

Oh man, guys, I am not doing well so far. >.< As in, we’re a whole week into November and I have written zero words. Nada. Nothing. Zip. I was feeling so excited and determined at the end of October, how did this happen?

Well, I’ll give you the quick run-down:

Firstly, I skimped on some basic prep-work, because I thought I already had everything ready to go. I’d decided to go with ‘Angel Wings’ as my first story this month; partly because it’s been on the shelf for way too long, and partly because jumping into something already started is a little easier sometimes. I already had outlines and everything ready to go. My plan was to give the first few scenes a quick re-read and then jump right in! The problem with this plan is that apparently I never typed up all the work I did before the project got shelved. The only file I have is the empty one that I cried about in my “Lost Pages” post, forever ago.

So, I ended up spending a whole day frantically digging around my files because I was CONVINCED that I had, in fact, typed it up and it had just disappeared again. And then, after scrubbing through blog posts and emails to realize that I’d stressed myself out for no reason, I spent another day or so scrounging around for the notebook, and various random papers, that I had been writing in two years ago. Luckily, I don’t throw those kinds of things away. XD

Not the best of starts. On top of this, I got sick. Not crazy sick, just enough to be exhausted all the time. If you follow me on Twitter, you probably know that I spent most of the week watching shojo anime from a blanket-nest in the living room.

Right now, (not counting this post) I’m sitting at 0/3,500 words… All in all, not the most auspicious start for a NaNo project, even a relatively forgiving one like mine. Nevertheless, I shall push onward! Or trudge, as the case may be. ^-^

Hope you are all having better luck with your NaNo projects, be they traditional or short-fic!

Author: Jennifer L. Post

For most of my life I've been imagining and playing, making up stories and writing them down. It's my dream to become a published author. Right now I'm working hard to make that happen. ^-^

One thought on “2017 NaNo Notes: Week 1

  1. I believe in you!!!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment